WALKING GROUP 2

 

 

WALKING GROUP 2

Co-ordinator:  Tony Roberts

Tel: 07803 615916

 

Walks take place fortnightly, alternating between Mondays and Wednesdays.  The meeting place is at the lay-by on Mobberley Road just before the watertower (Travis Perkins) at 9.30 a.m.  Please let the leader know if you intend to go directly to the start.

We tend to gravitate towards longer walks (7-9 miles) in the summer months.  These will suit the more adventurous walkers within the U3A.

During June, together with Group 1, we include a linear walk broken up over 4 or 5 days.  In 2018 it will a 29 mile section of the Midshires Way, from Chelmorton in Derbyshire to Stockport.

If you would like more details of any particular walk (e.g. difficulty, conditions underfoot or number of stiles) please ring the leader or if you have any other problems or matters for discussion please ring me on 07803 615916.

 

PLANNED WALKS JANUARY – JULY 2018

 

Date Leader Telephone Walk Details Picnic/Pub Distance (miles)
Wed 3 Jan Christine Falder 01565 654721 Acton Bridge and the River Weaver Pub 5.5
Mon 15 Jan CANCELLED
Wed 31 Jan Joy Jones 01565 634353 Around the Plough and Flail, Mobberley Pub 6
Mon 12 Feb Geoff & Elaine Lucas 07733 223663 The fringes of Delamere Forest Picnic 7.5
Wed 28 Feb Alan & Kath Perks 01565 651893 Church Minshull, including the River Weaver and Shropshire Union Canal Pub 7
Wed 14 Mar Geoff Dalton 07902 829249 Boothsdale & Kelsall Pub 5.5
Wed 28 Mar Tony Roberts 07803 615916 Thelwall and Lymm Picnic 8
Mon 9 Apr Judith Shirley 01565 652448 Kerridge Ridge & White Nancy Picnic 7.25
Wed 25 Apr Pauline Hales / Jane Winborn / Shelia Wright 07952 050765 Above Helsby and Frodsham Picnic 7
Wed 9 May Geoff & Elaine Lucas 07733 223663 North West corner of the Wirral Peninsula Picnic 9.25
Wed 23 May David & Pat Walton 01565 755232 Offa’s Dyke Path, Moel Famau and Clywd Forest Picnic 5
Mon 4 Jun Colin Bowman 01565 653242 Lathkill Dale, Derbyshire Picnic 8.5
Mon 11 Jun Joy Jones 01565 634353 The Midshires Way – Chelmorton to Buxton Picnic 5.4
Wed 13 Jun Geoff & Elaine Lucas 07733 223663 The Midshires Way – Buxton to Taxal Picnic 6.9
Fri 15 Jun Tony Roberts 07803 615916 The Midshires Way – Taxal to New Mills Picnic 5.4
Mon 18 Jun Evelyn Flett 07753 416875 The Midshires Way – New Mills to Compstall Picnic 5.1
Wed 20 Jun Pauline Hales / Jane Winborn 07952 050765 The Midshires Way – Compstall to Stockport Picnic 6.1

 

 

ANNUAL LINEAR WALKS

For a report from on the Annual Linear Walks organised by Walking Groups 1 and 2, 2012 – 2016 click on Linear Walks 

 

 

Waiting for Godot just south of Kelsall - March 2016

Waiting for Godot just south of Kelsall – March 2016

Picnic time on the North Cheshire Way - June 2016

Picnic time on the North Cheshire Way – June 2016

2016-06-15 14.29.42

Glad we are on this side of the fence! – June 2016